5k complete!

19 Jul

So before I go into the weekend, I need to share a story.

 

I have never been a runner. I have never been athletic. I have never loved the feeling of sweat drip down my face.

I never thought I’d be able to run a half-mile, let alone a 5k. I never thought I’d start at the line up and cross the finish line. I never thought I would have a PR in running. I never thought I would run on pavement with over 1,000 people- all with the same goal in mind. I never thought this would happen.

It took me about a year to really light the fire under my butt. I remember when I downloaded the “Couch 2 5k” app on my Itouch. I used it for a few weeks… Then ditched it, along with my other fitness routines. I was never good with commitment.

Then, in May 2011 I decided I needed a change. I needed goals, I needed to feel good about myself again. So, I took the plunge and started boxing. Then weight lifting. Then running.

I ran. I sweat. I ran some more. I looked up races in Rochester, and saw that the Jungle Jog was Sunday, July 17th. Jungle jog is a 5k race throughout the zoo. I figured if I was going to race, I gotta do it some where cool! So, I signed up… I just needed to pay the entry fee by the Friday before. I had to fully commit myself to run.

So, I didn’t really train. I became discouraged and didn’t want to race. I kept saying “Just see how you feel that Friday”. I had people talk me up, tell me I could do it.

But, it wasn’t about them. It was always about me. I didn’t think I could do it and I kept having visions of me passing out… Or getting chased and mauled by lions (hey, the race was at the zoo!).

So Friday came around and I said I’d wait until noon, the last possible time to do it. So, I waited and waited… Then finally I called and paid. A wave of anxiety came at me like a brick wall. I was doing this, and I was doing this ALONE! 

Saturday I took it easy. I stretched my tight muscles, and had a few pep talks from family members. I kept saying “just get to the finish line, it’s worth it.” I didn’t sleep well that night.

The next morning I woke up early, made some coffee and a bagel. Wayne asked how I was feeling and all I could really say was “It’s just a run…”. I laced up my shoes and got into the car. Next stop: starting line.

I said this before, but I was doing this alone. I was running by myself. My motivation would be the people around me. Wayne was there spectating, and before the race he gave me a kiss and said you’re going to do fine… See you at the finish line.

And then the horn went off, and I started moving. I ran at a smooth pace. The first half mile was up a hill, and as soon as I saw the top of the hill I saw Wayne. I started running faster, then I passed him. I got to the first mile marker. 11:14; fastest yet. I kept going, and eventually slowed down to my erratic breathing (I need to see a doctor about this!) but quickly started back up. I was almost half way done, I looked up and there was Wayne taking pictures of me. I kept going.

I was struggling  towards mile 2. But I kept going. I could see Mile Marker 3. I knew I was almost done! I actually got goosebumps looking at the marker, knowing I might accomplish this. When I past it I kept thinking “QUARTER MILE FALZONE! YOU GOT THIS!”

And then I got a big slap on my butt. Literally! My close girlfriend, Stacy saw me from where she was watching and jump in the race and helped me finish my last quarter mile! I was smiling when I saw 37:57 but smiled even more when Wayne was beaming!

I thought I couldn’t do it. I thought I’d never run. Guess what? I’m doing another race on Saturday!

One Response to “5k complete!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Beating Lupus « Be Fit Train Hard - August 11, 2011

    […] I started to run and was interested in running races, I decided to start with my first 5k. After that race, I knew I wanted to do another. I researched and finally found the right […]

Leave a Reply

