Personal Training and Vacation Check List

3 Aug

I haven’t really gone into detail, but I plan on become a personal trainer. With this said, there are many different places that offer certifications. I’ve chosen to go with ACSM (American College of Sports Medicine) and plan on buying my study materials THIS WEEKEND! I’m pretty nervous taking this step in my life for a few reasons;

The past 5 years of my life, I’ve called my dad hundreds of times and told him I wanted to become:

  1. A teacher
  2. A photographer
  3. A cosmetologist
  4. A Public Relations person
  5. A Sex Therapist (really happy about that one)
  6. Family counselor
  7. A Camp Counselor
  8. A Marketing person (Inspired by my previous job)
  9. A writer
  10. A nutritionist
  11. A Personal Trainer 

As you can see, it’s hard to make up my mind with the ever looming question of what I want to be. I never knew 100% what I wanted to be. I was always nervous for the future because what if this career doesn’t fit?

Over the past few months, I have learned more about nutrition and fitness than ever before. I have taught myself through online tutorials, blogs, websites.. you name it I’ve read it, to further my knowledge.

I thought about being a Health Coach, but then I realized food wasn’t a passion. I thought maybe after I got in fighting shape, I could think about being a personal trainer. I was holding myself back because I’m an average chick. I don’t have super jacked arms, no 6-8 pack… I was holding myself back.

Finally, after talking to a lot of trusted people in my life, I decided my passion really was fitness. I knew I wanted to help change people for the better. I wanted people to feel proud of themselves and watch their bodies change over time with hard work and dedication.

So, I’m taking the plunge by buying books that’s worth my retirement fund. I’m nervous because I’m doing this on my own. I’m studying on my own, I’m taking the test on my own, I will be starting a business on my own. I was that girl in college who slacked; I hated studying, taking test and being studious. So now I’m about to go studying BY MYSELF and take a ridiculously hard test to determine if I’m going to be a personal trainer for the next few years.

SO I have a few goals for myself when making this commitment:

  1. Study daily. Even if it’s for an hour, I need to study. I can bring a book to the gym and read it while running (I’m going to fall, I already see  this happening)
  2. Have accountability partners- Lisa is a super smarty pants, except when it comes to general knowledge (like green means go and the earth might be round) so she will be a huge help. Wayne will also keep me accountable by pushing me to study.
  3. Don’t be overwhelmed- I’m not going to sign up for the test until I’m ready. I was going to sign up to take it in October, but I’m going to need way more study time
  4. Try and take a workshop- In September, ACSM has a work shop going on at a local YMCA. It’s about $400 so that’s a huge chunk of money. I know it’s worth it, but my bank account will NOT be happy
  5. Become invested in the knowledge- I want to study this, because it’s what makes me feel happy. Fitness has decreased my negativity and has made me a stronger (physically and emotionally) person. I want this for YOU (future clients…) so I need to make sure I study as hard as I can to properly train you.

I’m also asking you, my readers, to keep my accountable. I want to help change peoples lives. I need interaction with you.

What about you? Do you have a goal in mind your afraid to take?

VACATION!!

Ok, now on to even more exciting news::: I FINALLY GET TO TAKE A WEEK LONG VACATION! With my job, you have a 3 month probation period to take time off. I’ve been here for about 6 months and now it’s time for me to take a week long rest and relaxation period. This is also happening around the weekend of ROVERFEST ‘11 so it’s extra good! I’ll be staying in the ROC during this week, but making the most out of it. I have a lot to accomplish so here is my list of stuff:

  1. Clear  out my car (as seen in this post it needs it!)
  2. Clean bedroom
  3. Organize clothes (or unpack from college 1.5 years ago)
  4. Sign up for a 2 week pass at Gold’s Gym to try Body Pump
  5. Get a massage (booked!)
  6. Dentist
  7. Doctors
  8. Scope out potential apartments for later on
  9. Do a yoga class
  10. Go to Cherry Bluffs with Wayne
  11. Go camping for the night with Wayne
  12. BLOG
  13. Take a lot of pictures for the blog
  14. Explore Rochester
  15. Go to a Museum
  16. Go to the Planetarium
  17. Lay out at the beach for a day
  18. Go to the gym by 9 am every day
  19. 5K ON AUGUST 20TH!!!

This post has been solely dedicated to lists of numbers and stuff. Hope ya don’t mind Winking smile 

8 Responses to “Personal Training and Vacation Check List”

  1. Tanya August 3, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    My goal right now is to strengthen my ankles to run a 1/4 mile in memory of my friend’s son. To me this is huge because I have had ankle pain for the last 2-3 years, but its all weight related. So, I guess I have two goals to strengthen my legs, but also to lose the weight.

    • Be Fit Train Hard August 3, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

      Do calf raises, they strengthen your ankles! Also, write the alphabet with your toes/ankles

  2. lisa barber August 3, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    I’m going to run a 5K even if it kills me

    • Be Fit Train Hard August 4, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

      It’s not gonna kill ya!! I promise, and if it does I get MeowMeow

  3. Adaline Hedlund August 4, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    Big I am very proud of everything that you are doing!!! maybe one day i will hire you if i get stationed somewhere near you!!! love you much!!

  4. Melissa Mason August 4, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    Hey there Kid!
    I know it’s been a while since I’ve actually seen you (I think there was a baby in my belly the last time, lol). I just wanted to let you know that I’m so glad that you’ve found something that you’re passionate about. You should be proud of yourself for even deciding on a goal. Some people never really do. Anyway, just wanted to tell you that and that I’m proud of you too 🙂
    Love ya,
    Melissa

    • Be Fit Train Hard August 4, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

      !!!!! There was a baby inside of you last time I saw you!!! I miss you and I believe coffee should happen NOW! Thank you so much for the encouragement!

  5. Ashley Rogers August 4, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

    You know if I was around I would help ya study 🙂

Leave a Reply

