Beating Lupus

11 Aug

Good afternoon, everyone! Hope your day is going as quickly as mine!

This post is more for me than you.

In a previous post, I wrote about my mother. I would not be able to explain my reasoning for doing the next race if I didn’t bring up my mother.

I knew my mother for 18 years. That’s all I ever had with her, and the time I did have was not spent happily. My parents were separated by the time I was in 2nd grade, so I was used to not having my mom around all the time. My father took care of me, something I’m forever grateful for.

My mother had her personal demons that would eat her alive as well as multiple health problems which fueled her demise. My mother battled with Lupus which also cause Psoriasis, and had hyperthyroid disorder. All three of these unfortunate health problem I am very fearful of getting. I had to overcome my fear of needles to get blood taken to be tested for these, and all came back negative.

I was never overly concerned with my mom’s health, because I knew first hand I couldn’t control it. So I sat back and watched. After she died, I thought of ways I could do something for her. For a few years after she passed, I kept this anger towards her and never felt ready to even go to the grave or do something to remember her by.

I thought about getting a tattoo, but that’s way to much commitment and I didn’t think it would be appropriate. So I have been waiting a few years to give back. Like my previous post, I was able to take some of her belongings and reuse them, as well as donate to the needy.

Running

Like I said, it’s taken me a few years to fully understand my mom’s past and over come the anger. I started to get into fitness and a healthy lifestyle so I could step away from my demons- my anxiety as well as battle health issues that run  prominent  in my family line.

When I started to run and was interested in running races, I decided to start with my first 5k. After that race, I knew I wanted to do another. I researched and finally found the right one.

5k Run for Lupus

Appropriate right?! As soon as I saw this, I knew I had to do it. It’s a perfect way to get my 2nd race in and do it for my mom. I plan on having a picture of my mom stapled to my running bib. I was also able to talk Wayne and Lisa into doing it.

Not only am I doing it for my mama, but I’m doing it for myself and any children I will one day have. Lupus can be passed down genetically so I want to do what I can to help the Lupus Foundation.

If any of you are interested in running this race, contact Lynn Girven at girvenmc@yahoo.com where you can donate to the Lupus Foundation or sign up to run the race.

4 Responses to “Beating Lupus”

  1. Tanya August 11, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    Amanda do you have a personal page or a team page that I could donate to. I know I can donate to the foundation, but didn’t know if you were personally able to raise funds.

  2. Jerry Falzone August 11, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    Very nice, let me know when and all and I will sponsor you

  3. Ashley August 11, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    I am proud of you best friend. I was with you when it happened and have seen your ups and downs along with your laughter and anixiety going to get tested. You are a strong woman and dare I say – you will be a great mom one day! Great job on the running and sorting through your past and emotions. I lOVe you <3of

  4. Corie August 11, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    What a great way to honor your mother. Proud of you Amanda! : )

Leave a Reply

