My First Butt Kicking

25 Aug

My Thursday has a little pep in my step, today! Almost the weekend, hell yes!

Sorry for the lack of post, life has been a bit chaotic. Let’s go over the food for the past 24 hours that talk about Training Rubie!!

For breakfast Wednesday, I was in a super hectic rush. I took a whole wheat tortilla, spread peanut butter and Nutella on one side with sliced bananas and some granola and ate it like a Quesadilla. Not the easiest thing in the world to eat while driving!

For lunch, I enjoyed left over beef stew (Which the picture looked GROSS so you won’t be seeing it the vomit like appearance of this staple food group) and a side of Tomato and Avocado salad, deeeeeeelish!

8

First Time Training!!!!

(I hate the color pink but whenever I have something important it needs to be in hot neon Pink… Grabs you attention!)

Ok so on to the good stuff! I was able to have my first one-on-one training session with my good friend, Rubi!

200095_567465133631_47000963_32677730_5751198_n

Rubi and I both worked at my previous employer (she still works there and is doing great!), and still keep in touch. She came to me when I first started getting into fitness and asked if I would train her. Of course I said yes, but I was hesitant because I don’t know what I’m doing yet.

I was going to meet up with her at 7:30, but got there around 7 because the gym just reopened in a new location and it BEAUTIFUL!

4

These are the bathroom/locker rooms. If you knew my old gym, this is an ocean away from the High School P.E Class type locker rooms. Seriously gross turned to regal!

 7

Those letters are every where all over the gym, and are 3 ft tall! I love my gym so much!

Before Rubi got there, I ran 1 mile then jumped on the Arc Trainer for 18 minutes.

5

Once she got there, it was butt kicking time! I had her complete the follow (most of it’s from Nike!)

Warm up:

  • 50 Jumping Jacks
  • 15 Burpees

Work out:

  • Straight Leg Kicks 1:00
  • Lunges 1:00
  • Dips (Modified) 1:00
  • Side Lunges 1:00
  • Walk Outs 1:00
  • Mountain Climbers (Modified for Rubi) 1:00
  • Russian Twist 1:00
  • Modified Burpee 1:00
  • REST!
  • Deadlifts with 5 lbs 1:00
  • Crazy Ivans (Same as Russian Twist but only do ONE side first and lift your arm with weight above your head) 1:00
  • 20 Modified Push Ups (Rubi’s first time doing that many!)
  • High Knee Runs :30
  • REST
  • 25 Leg Lifts
  • 15 Sit ups

Stretch and Recover!

We were both huffin’ and puffin’ after this workout. The thing about training people (and I say that SUPER lightly) is I can’t just stand there and watch. I’m very “hands on” and make sure the person clearly knows what they are doing and WHY they are doing it! I was very proud of Rubi, and also proud of her for doing so well with her C25k series! You go girl!

Having a taste of making people work to better themselves was a light bulb. I had fun motivating Rubi to just do 10 more reps. Once you do 10, another 10 is easy! I can see this is what I want to do, just need to get past reading the textbooks!

Leave a Reply

