Recipes: Pumpkin

19 Sep

Happy Monday everyone Smile Hope the coffee get’s you through today!

So I hope you’re ready for a butt load of pictures I took for the next few posts! w

I love fall. I love the colors, I love the sweet holiday that it comes with. I love the smell of burning wood, turkey, and anything that comes in a candle form that has fall attached to it. I love that fall reigns in the holiday season. Especially this year because:

  • October 22, 2011- the day I’ve been waiting for since August 2008
  • Halloween
  • Wayne’s Birthday (Nov 17)
  • Thanksgiving
  • Christmas
  • New Years
  • MY BIRTHDAY!

Good secession of dates right?! I have a lot of gift giving to prepare for!

Ok so about pumpkins. They are so much more than something to carve, or put into a pie. Pick up a can of this orange gunk and add it to recipes to create of smoother base, along with added nutrients and flava!

Pumpkin Protein Pancakes

I was scared at first to try and recreate a recipe I found on my favorite blog, PBFingers but it was super easy!

*These recipes are taken directly from Julie’s website*

q

Pumpkin Protein Pancakes

Serves one (makes three medium-sized pancakes)

  • Prep time: 5 minutes
  • Cook time: 5 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1/4 cup cottage cheese
  • 1/4 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon honey

Directions:

  • Spray pan with cooking spray and heat to a medium heat
  • Combine all ingredients in a small bowl and blend with an immersion blender until batter is relatively smooth and all ingredients are fully mixed
  • Pour batter onto the warm pan to form three medium-sized pancakes
  • Allow to cook until edges start to harden, about three minutes
  • Flip pancakes and allow to cook until batter is no longer runny, about two more minutes
  • Top with syrup, nutmeg or desired toppings and enjoy

These pancakes were actually pretty good. However, they looked like this

m

 

I blame me being inpatient and turning the heat up to 10 so the outside out cook quicker than the inside. Lesson learned!

And what I had today for breakfast..

Pumpkin Protein Oats

My pumpkin protein oats contained:

  • 1/2 c. old fashioned oats
  • 1 scoop Vanilla Protein Powder
  • 1/2 c. canned pumpkin
  • 1 tbsp of Biscoff Spread
  • Capful of Vanilla extract
  • 1/2 packet of Spleda

Microwave for 90 seconds and enjoy! Pretty tasty!

I decided for the next three weeks, to try very hard to get my whole grains and veggies into my system because lately I haven’t. I’ve also dedicated myself to a Falzone Bootcamp for the next 3 weeks as well… So todays the start! I had these oats for breakfast and a side of frosted mini wheats as Biscoff spread…

Leave a Reply

