Ironmen make me weak

20 Sep

Good afternoon, everyone Smile

Have you ever gone to an Ironman competition? Sunday was my first. I am in NO WAY capable to doing an Ironman (right now) but DAMN is it awesome to watch!

t

Ironman is an endurance competition. You are put through three different physical challenges, all timed. This Ironman was a 70.3

70.3…miles. 70.3 FREAKING MILES.

It was a 1.2 mile swim, 56 mile bike ride, 13.1 mile run. All in a row, starting at the bright an early time of 5 am.

The participants in this challenge are ridiculous. And by ridiculous I mean I’M SUPER JEALOUS OF THEM! They are all jacked. Anyone who participates in any form of a triathlon is one hell of an athlete.

oThe lake they had to swim

uThe transition site. This is where they place there belongs (water, bikes, sneakers, clothes). They begin with the swim then immediately RUN out of the water (Which was a blistering 40 degrees) to this station to grab their bikes, water bottles, and sneakers and start their 53 mile bike ride.

jkhbgkAfter they completed the bike ride, they dismount their bike and run it to their site. They slip on shoes, and take off the helmet then off to run a half marathon.

Not sure if you know this, but it takes normal people a long time to just TRAIN for a 13.1 mile run! Oh my lord.

I work for a massage School, so the student will participate in outside events. My friend Shana invited me to come, and I knew I couldn’t pass it up.

I met this man awho is at least 40, and has been doing triathlons, and races for 25 years!  He was from Australia. The winner of Ironman was Bert from Berlin (hahaha Bert from Berlin) and finished with a sub-4 time (any time under 4 hours).

photo (5)He won $8,500 for just finishing. Lucky dude.

 

A New Beginning

I noticed a slight change in my behavior, my eating, and my body. Not for better, not for worse.

I noticed in my diet, I haven’t been eating to many veggies or whole grains. It also doesn’t help that I’m dating the most pickiest eater who’d rather deep fry ANYTHING then eat my beloved brussles Sad smile. Granted, he’s the coolest cat, but his eating habits make me want to punch him in the eye.

So Since yesterday, I am tracking how many veggies go into my belly, and try different whole grains. My work outs will be more intense and I will be targeting specific muscle groups each day and also incorporate more stretching.

So my work out last night consisted of:

  • 1:00 Bicep curls- 10 lbs
  • 1:00 Tricep curls
  • 1:00 Deltoid ups? I don’t know what you call them but you can find them here
  • 1:00 Shoulder press
  • 1:00 Ab hold with shoulder press
  • 1:00 Sit ups with 10 lbs
  • 1:00 Leg lifts
  • 1:00 Butt lifts (same as a leg lift except your feet stay in the air and you lift your butt… serious burner!)
  • 20 push ups

Then I tried doing 26 minutes on the Arc Trainer, but my gym thought it would be funny to have the stupid fire alarm go off and make me stand in the rain for 15 minutes while the firefighters look FOR NOTHING! So finally when I got back in, I had only 5 minutes left before I had to leave so I sprinted a half mile then left.

AND I JUST GOT A TEXT FROM WAYNE SAYING HE MIGHT JUST GO TO THE GYM WITH ME TONIGHT!!! WOO HOO!

One Response to “Ironmen make me weak”

  1. Jess September 21, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    Ironmans are nuts! I don’t get how people do them, or train for them.
    And I know what it’s like for a boyfriend to impact your eating…it’s tough!

Leave a Reply

